Hinduism Teachings

Hinduism: The 4 Yogas


Inside Hindu non secular life there are 4 yogas, or paths to union with the divine. Karma Yoga is the trail of motion by which a follower pursues selfless service in order to eradicate previous karma and keep away from increase extra. Jnana yoga is the pursuit of data and knowledge by examine of philosophical teachings similar to vedanta which teaches monism – the assumption that there’s however one, impersonal final actuality and every little thing else we predict there’s, is actually simply phantasm or maya. It is because of ignorance, avidya, that we don’t see by the phantasm that’s this world. A 3rd strategy to non secular life is raja yoga, the trail of meditation. By way of the usage of asanas (postures) and focus aids similar to chanting a mantra just like the sacred sound “OM,” and gazing symbolic, geometric designs often known as yantra, one can strategy a state of absorption often known as samadhi. Pursuit of those paths typically requires a non secular instructor or guru. Many of those academics have followers or disciples who collect in non secular communities often known as ashrams, the place they’ll deal with their non secular practices and study on the toes of the instructor. Lastly, the fourth yoga is bhakti – the trail of loving devotion to at least one’s god.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker