Barcelona, Actual Madrid, Bayern Which membership do you be a part of if you wish to win the Ballon dOr



Robert Lewandowski is on a mission to win the Ballon d’Or, with the striker even going public with the admission that he swapped Bayern Munich for Barcelona over the summer time in a bid to enhance his possibilities of lastly claiming the award.

Lewandowski spent eight extremely profitable years in Germany and was positioned because the favorite to win the Ballon d’Or in 2020 after a peerless run of kind noticed him rating 55 targets in 47 video games as Bayern powered to a league, cup and Champions League treble. Nonetheless, the striker was then cruelly denied his probability by the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, which noticed the occasion canceled.

The 34-year-old — who did win back-to-back men’s FIFA The Best awards in 2020 and 2021, whereas additionally choosing up the 2021 Striker of the 12 months award on the Ballon d’Or ceremony — signed for Barcelona for €45 million this summer time and has stated that his resolution was at the very least partially influenced by a calculated plot to enhance his possibilities of lastly getting his palms on the Ballon d’Or itself.

“I do know that Barcelona is the workforce the place probably the most gamers have gained it. I believe the trail is shorter from Barca than from Bayern,” the Polish poacher informed Marca.

Certainly, statistics show that Barcelona gamers have gained European soccer’s most prestigious particular person award extra instances than another membership — although after all these numbers are considerably skewed by the actual fact Lionel Messi gained it seven instances throughout his stint at Camp Nou between 2009 and 2021.

Nonetheless, with 11 targets in his first eight video games for Barca already this season, it actually appears to be like like Lewandowski is severe about chasing down the Ballon d’Or that so cruelly eluded him two years in the past.

Provided that the Catalans have seen their gamers declare the award on greater than twice the variety of events that Bayern have for the reason that inaugural ceremony in 1956 (which was gained by Sir Stanley Matthews, Blackpool’s solely recipient up to now), it appears to be like like historical past can be on his facet.

Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, MLS, more (U.S.)

Barcelona (13 Ballon d’Or winners, 6 completely different gamers)

Over half of Barca’s whole Ballon d’Or wins have been amassed by one man: with Messi chargeable for the membership’s final seven triumphs, taking high spot in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021 — the yr during which he left the membership to hitch Paris Saint-Germain on a free switch.

Previous to Messi’s run of dominance, the Catalans noticed Ronaldinho (2005), Rivaldo (1999), Hristo Stoichkov (1994), Johan Cruyff (1973, 1974) and Luis Suarez (1960) win the award whereas carrying their well-known blaugrana stripes.

Real Madrid (11 winners, 7 gamers)

Provided that Karim Benzema is the odds-on favorite to win this yr’s award, Actual Madrid’s depend is prone to rise to 12 within the close to future, however till then they continue to be on 11.

Luka Modric (2018) is Los Blancos‘ most up-to-date winner, although no participant has claimed extra Ballon d’Ors for the Spanish giants than Cristiano Ronaldo (2013, 2014, 2016, 2017). Ronaldo has really gained the award 5 instances total, although the primary of his triumphs got here in 2008 throughout his first stint at Manchester United.

Skipping again even additional by the annals, Actual have Fabio Cannavaro (2008), Ronaldo Nazario (2002), Luis Figo (2000), Alfredo Di Stefano (1957, 1959) and Raymond Kopa (1958) to thank for finishing their spectacular assortment.

Juventus (8 winners, 6 gamers)

Juventus’ most up-to-date Ballon d’Or win got here again in 2003, when Czech Republic maestro Pavel Nedved performed his approach to the trophy, narrowly pipping Thierry Henry of Arsenal within the working.

Earlier than that, Zinedine Zidane (1998) and Roberto Baggio (1993) each gained the award within the Nineteen Nineties, whereas Michel Platini (1983, 1984, 1985) and Paolo Rossi (1982) ensured a flawless four-year sweep through the mid-’80s.

Nonetheless, the Bianconeri‘s maiden Ballon d’Or was claimed all the way in which again in 1961, when the nice Omar Sivori took the honours after firing the membership to the Scudetto for the third time in 4 years.

AC Milan (8 winners, 6 gamers)

Whereas level-pegging with their Serie A counterparts, Milan solely have to return to 2007 to seek out their final Ballon d’Or winner in Kaka, who lifted the award three years after teammate and strike accomplice Andriy Shevchenko (2004) did likewise.

The Rossoneri additionally took the prize six instances earlier than 2000 because of George Weah (1995), Marco van Basten (1988, 1989, 1992), Ruud Gullit (1987) and Gianni Rivera (1969.)



Don Hutchison and Jan Age Fjortoft imagine Robert Lewandowski ought to have gained the lads’s Ballon d’Or.

Bayern Munich (5 wins, 3 gamers)

Though it by no means got here to go resulting from circumstances past anyone’s management, Bayern ought to have seen their participant raise the Ballon d’Or in 2020 — thus disrupting an impervious Barcelona-Actual Madrid duopoly that had been working since 2009.

Lewandowski completed second within the vote behind Messi for the 2021 award, which led the Argentine to congratulate his Polish up to date throughout his acceptance speech.

“I would like to say Robert, it has been an actual honour to compete with him. Everybody is aware of and we agree that you simply have been the winner final yr. I believe [award organisers] France Soccer ought to award you your 2020 Ballon d’Or, you deserved it,” Messi stated from the rostrum.

Lewandowski wasn’t fairly so courteous within the aftermath. “I am not that smitten by getting the 2020 award,” he informed Polish outlet Kanale Sportowym. “I would really like [Messi’s speech] to be a honest and courteous assertion from an important participant and never simply empty phrases.”

With Lewandowski lacking out in 2020, Bayern must go all the way in which again to 1981 to seek out their most up-to-date Ballon d’Or recipient, with Karl-Heinz Rummenigge accumulating the award for a second consecutive yr. The German membership dominated the scene all through the last decade prior with the legendary Franz Beckenbauer (1972, 1976) and Gerd Muller (1970) finishing the set.

Manchester United (4 wins, 4 gamers)

Ronaldo is the final Manchester United participant to win the Ballon d’Or (2008) and even earn a lot as a congratulatory nod within the high three of the voting.

David Beckham (second, 1999) and Eric Cantona (third, 1993) each made it onto the rostrum within the area of a decade, however United’s earlier Ballon d’Or winner was George Finest all the way in which again in 1968. Finest was the final of United’s famed “Holy Trinity” to assert the award, following Sir Bobby Charlton (1966) and Denis Regulation (1964.)

Source link